Tenderbooks is OPEN Wednesday-Saturday, 12-6pm :) UK shipping is FREE for orders over £40 :)
0

WEAR BOOKS - Claire Mouton & Marie-Sophie Robert

£48.00

furoshiki is a piece of cotton fabric used in Japan since the 17th Century (its name refers to the art of tying). A furoshiki fabric square is used to wrap anything and everything: watermelon, saké, shoes.. and of course books.. Furoshikis are a good way to carry everyday objects, recycle fabric and replace plastic. 

WEAR BOOKS is a new edition for travelling books or moving readers, handmade in France by Claire Mouton and Marie-Sophie Robert. Using books from their personal libraries exposed with a little bit of sun, Claire and Marie-Sophie have created an edition of cyanotype furoshikis, each one unique. 

Each fabric square comes with its own tying suggestions for your portable library, such as an elegant 'la poche de Marguerite' handbag or a comfy 'Kerouac Backpack'. 

WEAR BOOKS is launched on the occasion of Printed Matter Virtual Art Book Fair, 24-28 February, 2021 

Please join us for the virtual launch event on Friday 26 February at 2pm GMT (9am EST and 3pm CET). In a short film the designers show you the possibilities of 'how to wear a book'. View at the Tenderbooks fair site  or watch on our
YouTube Channel 

This furoshiki is made with 50% cotton, 50% sail cloth (for rainy days)
Printed with cyanotype, the sun, and books. 

Including a label with tying suggestions & care instructions

Each square measures approximately 100 x 100 cm 

Handmade in France by Claire Mouton & Marie-Sophie Robert
Published by Tenderbooks, 2021 
Edition of 20

*shipping dependent on stock, please allow up to five weeks - we will notify you at the time of your order* 


You may also like